Book Reviews

Book Review: The Lost Lieutenant by Erica Vestch

48848548He’s doing what he can to save the Prince Regent’s life . . . but can he save his new marriage as well? Evan Eldridge never meant to be a war hero–he just wanted to fight Napoleon for the future of his country. And he certainly didn’t think that saving the life of a peer would mean being made the Earl of Whitelock. But when the life you save is dear to the Prince Regent, things can change in a hurry.

Now Evan has a new title, a manor house in shambles, and a stranger for a bride, all thrust upon him by a grateful ruler. What he doesn’t have are all his memories. Traumatized as a result of his wounds and bravery on the battlefield, Evan knows there’s something he can’t quite remember. It’s important, dangerous–and if he doesn’t recall it in time, will jeopardize not only his marriage but someone’s very life.

Readers who enjoy Julie Klassen, Carolyn Miller, and Kristi Ann Hunter will love diving into this brand-new Regency series filled with suspense, aristocratic struggles, and a firm foundation of faith.

My Thoughts: I’m always ready for an entertaining Regency novel and Erica Vetsch provided! The setting was very vibrant and well-researched. I loved all the details woven into each moment in a way that wasn’t heavy handed.
The story itself was engaging and hard to put down. I would have liked to have seen the villainous characters a bit less obvious, but otherwise it was a great plot.
I especially appreciated the work Evan did for veteran men and recovering war horses. I thought this was a nice touch, keeping with the character’s concerns but also shining the light on a real need.
Everything was tied together with a timeless message for the soul. The characters are reminded that God is still in control, even when life appears to be spinning out of control. That’s a timely message for our lives today.

Rating and Recommendation: I’m giving The Lost Lieutenant 4 stars and recommending it to those who enjoy Christian Regency fiction.

~ I received a copy from the publisher. All thoughts are my own. I was not required to give a favorable review. 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s